Meet Sangita de Jong

Doing and discovering new things,  
the essence of my life  

My name is Sangita, which means ‘music’ in Nepalese. I was born in Nepal 30 years ago and I lived there for 4 years. But I grew up in the Netherlands in the city of Enschede, so I’m what the Dutch call a “tukker”. I got my love for discovering other countries from my parents. They’ve lived abroad a lot and have also visited many countries. So when I was 18 and graduated from high school, I decided to discover the world for myself and went on a long trip. 

“Flatpack specialist”

After my travels, I decided to study Organizational Studies at the University of Tilburg. The study program focuses on the social aspects of business administration. I really enjoyed my time as a student in Tilburg and I took part in lots of activities, internships and committees and had some more adventures abroad. After Tilburg, I continued my studies at the University of Amsterdam, this time for a Masters in Culture, Organization & Management. The best thing about my Masters was my graduate internship in Uganda. It was really amazing to spend six months in that lovely country.  

I started my working life as a trainee at IKEA. It’s a fascinating company to work for and I learned a lot. I’d like to have worked in Sweden, but you need real IKEA DNA to do that – and be a flatpack specialist, as it were – so it wasn’t to be.… 

But there’s definitely no doubt that this company is growing fast. 

For the last four-and-a-half years, I worked at Frisse Blikken as a HR project manager. While I was at Frisse Blikken, I worked on a project basis for lots of large organizations in the Netherlands, such as Sunweb Group, ING and Ahold Delhaize. I helped those organizations tackle their HR challenges in an innovative way.  

I particularly enjoyed coming up with innovative ideas and concepts and working them out, so that’s what I also looked for in my next job. Preferably working for an enterprising, growing organization. And it looks like I’ve found it… I see ValueBlue as a really dynamic, energetic organization with lots of drive. A company that’s very action-oriented in everything it does. I’m responsible for HR here, with my focus on the employee journey.  

I live in the city of Utrecht and recently renovated an old house (built in 1900) with my boyfriend. We love it there. I don’t have a favorite holiday destination; I prefer to discover new places. I really get a kick out of trying out new things. And that’s actually one of the themes running through my life. I don’t often visit the same country twice. And I’m more of a slow traveler. When I travel somewhere, I like to take my time and arrive home with the feeling that I’ve seen everything I wanted to see. 

Happy with what you’ve got 

Yes, I do have a favorite continent: Africa! In many countries on this continent, you encounter a fascinating combination of chaotic, busy African culture with lots of wonderful smells and colors. On the other hand, the (big) cities are becoming more modern and have every modern convenience. It’s great to see and experience that contrast.  

My favorite food? Sushi, Japanese… or maybe Moroccan. Now I’m not sure any more… Okay, it’s definitely Sushi! With wasabi – it’s always good to add a little spice to your life! My favorite quote? I’ve always liked this one: “Do not follow where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail…”. So always try to choose your own path in life. I think that’s a beautiful message.